Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
hectorsmum
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

01-05-2008, 08:47 AM

Kitchen Extention.....soooo scared!!!

i'm just getting my plans done ready for a new extention. i've never done anything like this before and it really scares me

i've got ball park figures for the build which came in what i expected and the 2 builders i've got in the pipe line are reputable and i've seen and spoken to other customers who were more than happy.

so what scares me?

the worse case senario.......the house falling down or totally messing up and it costing me more.
its totally irrational, i know, but when you go into the unknown its scarey!!!
Trixybird
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

01-05-2008, 08:57 AM
How exciting for you, but at the same time I understand your concerns x

I am married to a builder so have works going on here most of the time. We were all done and prepared to sit back and enjoy - until we decided to have a room in the roof done

So our bedrooms are like a bomb has gone off at the moment but I know all will be worth it in the end

Have confidence in your builder and discuss daily the progress. Also if building regs and planning are needed you will have the added security of a local building inspector periodically checking on the statues of works.

If walls are being moved that require rsj's or lintels, you should have structual calculations also.

You will have a new fab kitchen, try to look forward and plan all those lovely new items which are going to go in there xxxx
Jackie
Dogsey Veteran
Female  Diamond Supporter 

01-05-2008, 10:23 AM
If the builders have come recommend, and they know what they are doing, you should be fine..are you taking load baring walls down, have you actually seen some of the work both builders have done, has a structural engineer looked at the plans..

Expect for it to cost more than you estimated.... these things always do.
hectorsmum
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

01-05-2008, 11:51 AM