Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
kirstya72
Dogsey Senior
Female 

28-08-2007, 01:07 PM

Feeding two pups-together or apart?

Molly(ESS) is now about 61/2 months and is getting JB wellbeloved puppy and seems to be doing fairly well with it but she is a fairly slow eater and never finishes her food. Since getting Charlie (lab) 9 weeks who is like a garbage disposal unit on legs she seems to be eating even less. Charlie is on the same and I have been feeding them together (just giving Molly her bowl slightly before)as they seem to be tolerating it fine.
Should I seperate them completely as Charlie is hoovering up her food and then moving on to Molly's and Molly just walks away and lets her have it.

There doesn't seem to be any food aggression or anything, Charlie is just a wee greedy guts and I worry that she will get too fat and Molly too thin.

As this is my first time with two dogs I would appreciate any advice that you all have.
Helen
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

28-08-2007, 01:10 PM
I would feed them apart or stop Charlie pinching Molly's food. I have a springer, Tia who finishes her bowl and tries to hoover up Teal and Dotty's food. She won't go near Pippa or Milly as they tell her off. I stand over them when eating and then put Tia out of the way so Dotty and Teal can finish their meal.

Helen
Moobli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

28-08-2007, 01:20 PM
I agree with Helen. I feed my dogs in the same room but have started to keep an eye on them, as Rip (a collie) will scoff his in no time and then stick his nose into the others dishes to try and get some of theirs too. They tolerate this, but he is definitely getting a little podgy, so is now on a bit of a diet!
IsoChick
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

28-08-2007, 01:25 PM
Originally Posted by kirstya72 View Post