Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Moobli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

11-10-2011, 01:57 PM

Animal experiments

Having just finished reading Richard Adams' "Plague Dogs" which I hadn't read for years, it got me wondering just how many experiments are still being carried out on animals. When I was a student I can remember regular anti-vivisection rallies and marches etc, but you just don't hear of them anymore.

I am going to do a google search when I get back from collecting my son from nursery, but in the meantime does anyone know how much of this still goes on? Are animals only used when absolutely necessary?
Jet&Copper
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

11-10-2011, 02:04 PM
I work in the field of research science, so I can most certainly confirm that animals are used.

The vast majority are mice or rats. The licensing from the Home Office is strictly controlled, and any and all procudures must absolutely be vetted through the Home Office and Grant Funding Body.

Anyone carrying out in vivo based research must also have a personal Home Office licence, and must reapply for every new project undertaken.

Animals are only used after all in vitro data has been exhausted, or when in vitro data is no longer sufficient, e.g. prior to application for clinical trials.

As both a research scientist and animal lover, I am happy in both the way that this research is controlled, and how the animals welfare is enforced. IMO, pet hamsters kept in cages for people's kids are often worse off.

You may find this link helpful;

http://www.understandinganimalresear...d_the_three_rs
Razcox
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

11-10-2011, 02:37 PM
Personally i think vivisection is out dated and a waste of time due to species difference. Its barbaric and disgusting that it still gets funding in this age.

Wont say more as i am very anti vivisection and it may get a bit heated!