Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
cara2002
Dogsey Junior
Female 

25-06-2011, 08:17 AM

Question on feeding a combined raw diet

Hi i'm new to the B.A.R.F raw diet and havn't started it with mine yet.
I have a male lab who is 6yrs old and a weimaraner bitch who is 8months and just has a scare with bloat!! so i am considering the raw diet for her benefit.
Currently they are both on a royal canine diet lab-maxi adult dry food and pup-maxi junior dry food which they both enjoy.
To help with digestion i have started soaking the pups biscuits to make life easier on her recently damaged stomach.
Does a raw diet have to be given as 100% of the diet or could i feed them one meal a day biscuits and the other meal raw? Any help would be appreciated. I am scared that the pup will get bloat again! Thanks
Meg
Supervisor
Female  Diamond Supporter 

25-06-2011, 09:40 AM
Originally Posted by cara2002 View Post
I have a male lab who is 6yrs old and a weimaraner bitch who is 8months and just has a scare with bloat!! so i am considering the raw diet for her benefit.
Currently they are both on a royal canine diet lab-maxi adult dry food and pup-maxi junior dry food which they both enjoy.
To help with digestion i have started soaking the pups biscuits to make life easier on her recently damaged stomach.
Does a raw diet have to be given as 100% of the diet or could i feed them one meal a day biscuits and the other meal raw? Any help would be appreciated. I am scared that the pup will get bloat again! Thanks
Hi Cara I think you will find there is no one answer , many of us here feed a diet which is a combination of different kinds of foods.

I can only say what I would do and in your situation taking into consideration your puppy has already had an episode of GT, I would feed at least two small meals a day of moist food only giving the occasional dry biscuit.
Velvetboxers
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

25-06-2011, 09:45 AM