Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
lore
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

16-02-2011, 11:42 PM

So sad how many kids smoke now

As you know I am an adult instructor with the Army Cadets. We were doing physical achievement tonight, and I was dismayed at how many of the recruits who are between 12 and 15 smoke and were getting breathless at some of the stuff they were doing to pass the test. It wasn't exactly taxing stuff either, cause it was dark out we couldn't do the endurance run or the speed test so it was just sit ups, press ups and a few other bits.

We were discussing it walking up from the detachment tonight, and I was saying it was not something I understood, why do they smoke, what's the attraction? The answer I got was the noncommital shrug that teens seem so good at. However, at least two of the lassies were shocked into quitting when they realised I was fitter than them and I'm 3 times their age.

It's shocking, it's the parents too, they smoke like chimneys but go nuts if their kids smoke...where the hell do you think they learned it from. I just don't get it, what the hell is the attraction.

My folks smoked and I had to clean out and wash the overflowing ashtrays...even now the smell of a wet ashtray or even the thought of it will make me feel so sick, so it's not something that ever tempted me thankfully.
ATD
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

17-02-2011, 08:40 AM
It really winds me up when you see Parents smoking around kids coz lie you said that is where they first learn about it. My OH smokes buthe down to less than 10/week and has promised to quit totally before baby arrives.
ATD x
Cachapman710
Dogsey Senior
Female 

17-02-2011, 09:14 AM
I don't smoke and never have. Only my oldest child smokes, he was 18 earlier this month. Fortunately neither his 16 year old brother or 14 year old sister have shown an interest in smoking.