Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
shaza
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

07-05-2008, 09:15 AM

Should I give up on this plant!

Ok, me and plants don't seem to go well together I have been watering this stick for 6 months now and it dont seem to want to spring back to life What do you think, am I wasting my time

This is the said plant now!

and this is said plant as it should look taken a couple of years ago

On a brighter note I have at least one plant in the garden I haven't managed to kill yet

boobah
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

07-05-2008, 09:33 AM
Jeez it looks dead to me,xxxxxxxx
majuka
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

07-05-2008, 11:08 AM
I can't really see from the picture, but are there buds starting to form on the branches in the bottom left?
Lynn
Dogsey Veteran
Female  Gold Supporter 

07-05-2008, 11:13 AM
One way to tell if it is dead or not is to scrape your thumbnail along the bark and if it is green underneath it is alive if it is woody and dry it is dead. Try a few different branches before giving up and if a few are ok and others are not take off the dead ones and see if the others will shoot.
I have a tree that is very late starting and Gorden was convinced it was dead I did this with my nail and it was alive and started shooting a week or so later.
Good luck.
Snorri the Priest
Dogsey Veteran
Male 

07-05-2008, 11:49 AM
It does look rather as though it has had a serious night out on the town, but I'd do as Lynn suggests and give it a a chance to sober up!

Snorri
shaza
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

07-05-2008, 02:26 PM
Originally Posted by boobah View Post
Jeez it looks dead to me,xxxxxxxx

Originally Posted by majuka View Post
I can't really see from the picture, but are there buds starting to form on the branches in the bottom left?
No Buds!

Originally Posted by Lynn View Post