Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Lottie
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

04-04-2006, 10:38 AM

Coming into season... advice please

Takara's coming into season, I have been told so by a husky and a black lab.

Thing is, she's not actually in season yet, and as I've never done this before would like some advice.

I've been told that dogs will usually alert you to your bitches season before she starts bleeding, but is this actually before her season? Is she already in season just not bleeding yet? I don't think she's majorly swelled up compared to normal.

She always, without fail, tells dogs off for trying it on, but only while they're trying to mount her, a husky mounted her (we got him off) and so did Alfie, the black lab in the park today (although I don't think he knows how to do it by the looks of it ) but once they were on her, she stood there and was happy for anything to happen, but she snapped while they were trying to get to the right place if you know what I mean

What do I do? Do I stop walking her now and just carry her to the tennis courts down our road and let her off securely there? Do I keep walking her and letting her offlead in the park until she starts to bleed?
Can I walk her onlead, but not off? I know that when she's in season I'll have to carry her to the tennis courts so that she doesn't leave a trail but what about right now?

Also, can I use bitch spray until she starts to bleed as well as when she's coming out of her season? If so does that mean I can let her off in the park until she gets to her really obvious part of her season?

Basically, I've never had a bitch, and an unspayed one at that so don't really know what I'm doing!

Also, has anyone tried the strange doggy pant things for when they're bleeding?
I'm seriously thinking about putting a pair of trousers on her so that we can still go out without the risk of puppies!
Paul G.
Dogsey Junior
Male 

04-04-2006, 11:43 AM