View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Losos
Fondly Remembered
Male 

22-08-2008, 09:00 PM

If someone kicks your dog, is it a crime?

I'm not talking about the real world where every civilised, educated, and compassionate person would never do this.

I'm talking about some moron who runs up behind you and sinks his boot into your dog and you were able to grab him and march him into the nearest cop shop what could they charge him with

We all know the law is an ass - just interested to know what people think and if any legal people here could say. I could be wrong but I'm not sure there is anything in law that would apply. Opinions please.
Vicki
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-08-2008, 09:03 PM
If that happened I don't think I'd be marching him anywhere. I'm not too good at carrying dead weights.....

....and no, I don't think the police could do anything - although it may be a "public order offence"
k9xxb
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-08-2008, 09:03 PM
Hi, there are some well qualified people on here to give you an answer to that. Me - i'd be charged with assault, gbh and quite possibly manslaughter if anyone dared to touch my hounds like that Has someone done it to yours? Luckily we have a lot of dog friendly cops around and i think i'd know what answer they'd like to give, lol.
Ben Mcfuzzylugs
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

22-08-2008, 09:12 PM
We had had some trouble with neds in our area hitting golf balls and letting off fireworks at our dogs (cured by a dogwalk of over 20 dogs )
But I had a dream one night that someone had hurt Ben and in my dream I repeatedly smashed the person in the face with a golf club - rather unlike me
When I told fellow dogwalkers the response was 'if anyone hurts wee Ben then no matter what happens you were in my house!!'

I suppose the offence should be a cruelty to animal type one, think when dogs had licenses it would have been property damage
- either way its your word against theirs
It should be assault
Hali