Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
1cutedog
Dogsey Senior
Female 

01-11-2010, 10:32 PM

Gone off raw - what can I feed instead

I've been feeding Lana raw for the last 8-9 months but she seems to have gone off it. First with the chicken, then just picking at the tripe until she refused it then the same with the other stuff. I ended up cooking her mince a couple of nights, tried tinned dog food which she didn't seem keen on, then some dried food which she didn't want. The last couple of nights she's had tinned food with some sardines or a couple of times with some cheap Irish stew in it and she's eaten it quite the thing.

I would prefer to feed raw but she won't touch it so I want to get her the next best thing, if there is such a thing. I've read a lot of the threads on here but still haven't a clue. I think she would be better with a wet food than a dry one but really don't know where to start.

If I'm reading the tins, what sort of quantities of stuff should I be looking for and what ingredients should I avoid?
whippetwatch
Dogsey Junior
Female 

01-11-2010, 11:26 PM
You are making a picky dog.

Decide what you are going to feed (raw is good) and stick to it. She'll eat eventually and won't starve although it may take 4 or 5 days. Put it down, leave it for 10 minutes, then take it away. Nothing till the next meal.

If you go on changing her diet to feed her what she likes, you'll go mad! Remember, you're in charge!
wilbar
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

02-11-2010, 07:54 AM
If she was happily eating raw before, & if she's now being very picky with her food, I'd be tempted to get a vet check just to make sure there's nothing causing this sudden change in her eating habits.

Are there any other changes in her behaviour? Does she seem well & "normal" in herself? Is she drinking more than normal? Is she pooing & peeing normally?