Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
ljru1970
Dogsey Senior
Female 

25-02-2012, 09:01 PM

Raw feeding - advice please

Having followed multiple threads extolling the benefits of a raw diet I'm considering giving this a go for my Daxie and terrier X, not sure I can afford it for the Goldie . Anyway, my local PAH sells frozen Natures menu nuggets which I understand are complete and I need add nothing? and the prize choice range. If anyone knows of any reason why these are not suitable for my little ones please say as I'm a complete novice! Also, what if anything extra would I need to give if I use the prize choice range? I may do half raw and half complete kibble, possibly Skinners hypoallergenic, not at the same sitting of course though. Thanks
Wild Rose
Dogsey Junior
Female 

26-02-2012, 11:19 PM
It will be easier on your dogs' digestive systems if you choose one food rather than kibble one day and meat another. I feed raw chicken to my dogs, sometimes pig's feet or oxtail, as I can get it. Chicken, because they are small animals, give you an almost complete meal. Skin, which has vitamin K, the 3, 6, and 9 omega fatty acids in the fat, muscle meat, ligaments, bone, and cartiledge. If you feed chicken backs there is usually some extra bits also. With chicken legs as a staple, I add liver, eggs including shell, and when I roast, some carrots cooked in meat juice. There is no need to grind bones or vegetables with this menu, just remember to mix in the cooked carrots and organ meat with your chosen raw meaty bones.

I'm in the U.S., so you may have better availability of other meat. My dogs only get mutton when I butcher one of my sheep.
Ben Mcfuzzylugs
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

26-02-2012, 11:32 PM
There is lots of info out there and I would advise to keep on reading and decide what version of raw feeding you wish to do
1/2 raw and 1/2 kibble is something many people do no problems

I do a pray model diet