Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
streetmutt
Dogsey Junior
Female 

19-05-2008, 12:13 PM

confusion about best dry food

hi, I am new member. I have had a selection of dogs for many years all rescued, I work as a veterinary nurse so many have come through work! I have always been very interested in nutrition to the point of obsessed! my husband thinks I am mad, but I just like as everyone the best for our dogs. The problems I have though that they are quite fussy (due to me I know) we have two retired greyhounds, one min pinscher, a gsd x spaniel and our new recruit is a bull mastiff puppy this is the first puppy we have actually chosen and bought. After the last few years of losing so many as I am a sucker for rescueing the oldies that nobody wants we decided we would introduce a pup. The foods I have used over time are Burns, JWB, Hills, Arden Grange, Nature diet, Butchers tinned. The puppy came being only fed Butchers tripe so I want to get gradually get her on to a good large breed diet. The others I do admit i swap and change. At work we are "brainwashed" into using Hills which I have done for a while but am concerned that it doesnt seem very popular. I do like Burns but my only concern is that one of my greyhounds is always very lean and worried that she will lose more weight. Also I have read that Burns puppy is good for large breeds to slow down growing, but then some say thay prefer more protein. I do add some meat with the dry. I would like some advice as I think I have analysed their diet to the point that I am so confused that driving hubby mad!! Sorry for the long message!
Helena54
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

19-05-2008, 12:32 PM