Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
parsonsmum
Dogsey Senior
Female 

17-04-2012, 09:16 PM

Help please re RAW.

I've been feeding a RAW diet for 3 years or so and all was going well until last December.
One of my dogs (9 year old PRT) suffered a bowel blockage.
The 'blockage' was bone......not a chunk of bone......it was ground up bone that had reconstituted into a solid mass.

The vet knew I fed RAW but has now told me I must NEVER give Doug bones again as the same thing, will more than likely, happen again.

I admit it really frightened me! I had hoped once Dougs gut had recovered I would be able to offer bones again, but since this incident all 3 dogs have been 'boneless'.

Is it still feasible to feed a RAW diet without bones? Should he have some sort of supplement....calcium?

I feed....
tripe, chicken and beef minces
Lamb and beef chunks
Liver, heart, kidney and lites
White fish, tinned sardines and pilchards
Small amount of steamed veg daily and an occasional raw egg with the shell.

Thanks in advance.
Ben Mcfuzzylugs
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

17-04-2012, 09:20 PM
It will be difficult without bones
The tinned fish do have bones so that will help a bit

What bones were you feeding before? possibly if you moved onto softer bones like chicken it would be OK? I really dont know

I guess you would have to look into what exactly is in bones to suppliment, I know its calcium and phosphourus you have to balance - but there will be other things

What about adding a good mixer as well?? its not ideal but better than no bones
parsonsmum
Dogsey Senior
Female 

17-04-2012, 09:31 PM
It was mostly lamb bones they had, although sometimes pork and beef too. They won't eat chicken bones, I've tried all ways to tempt them but they refuse.

I was always a bit wary of giving beef knuckle bones as they are soooo hard. The lamb bones got crunched up and easily eaten........maybe a knuckle bone would be better as they couldn't actually crunch it all up and eat it?