Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Ryan W
Dogsey Junior
Male 

20-02-2007, 07:00 PM

Tips on showing

Hi there guys ...

I definately want to show my Irish Setter Mac, he's 5 months. I've never done anything like this before lol. What do they need to be able to do? Just walk nice on the lead? sit?

Also, should I just take him to small 'county' shows first?

Is there a website where I can find out about all the shows in the country?
Mahooli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

20-02-2007, 07:04 PM
If there is a ringcraft class near you then I would thoroughly recommend going to one. They will teach you how to stand your dog and teach your dog how to get used to a bunch of strange people going over them. They will then probably be able to keep you advised of any local shows that are around.
Ringcraft is great fun although I got told off last night as I went to the ringcraft class run by my Wilson's breeders oooppps!
Becky
Nursey
Almost a Veteran
Female 

20-02-2007, 07:55 PM
Hi Ryan, welcome to the world of Irish Setters. I've been an owner of Irish since 1973.

Irish Setters are a stacked breed, so it would be a good idea for you to go to a show and watch the breed in action. That way you'll be able to watch the experts at work, and see how it's done.

I agree with Mahooli, ringcraft is a great staring place, the Kennel Club will be able to tell you where your nearest class is.

If you don't mind saying, who bred your Irish? maybe they could tell you how to go about getting started. Unfortunately you've just missed the Irish Setter Club of Wales Championship Show, that would have been a great experience for you. How about a trip to Crufts in March? Also how about pictures of your puppy?

Dawn R.
random
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

20-02-2007, 08:05 PM