View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
GuineaPigQueen
New Member!
Female 

09-04-2013, 12:19 PM

Dangerous Dogs Act 1991 - and similar (research paper)

Hi everyone,

I am a law student currently taking a module called ‘Animal Welfare & Wildlife Law’. Our marked assignment is an essay on a topic of our choice. I have chosen to look into the Dangerous Dogs Act 1991 – more specifically how it’s current state is not satisfactory. Perhaps looking at other methods in other countries (so any information on how other countries successfully deal with the problem would be appreciated).

The essay is in its early stages and I am still researching this topic. But I am looking for sources, articles, opinions etc. on any of the points below.

• The situation before the DDA – what brought this legislation about? Any particular cases/media reports?

• Overall aims of the DDA

• Does the DDA achieve it’s aim? Pros/Cons

• The detrimental effect on certain breeds – e.g. the banned breeds, also Staffi’s as even though they are not a breed named in the Act they have been demonised
increasingly. Maybe this legislation actually encourages the wrong kind of owners to these dogs?

• Opinions, proposals etc. on compulsory micro chipping/licensing?

• The law elsewhere – where such issues have been successfully dealt with.

• Suggestions – what would help the situation? This can be purely opinion.

So if anyone has any articles, information, sources, and particular cases/media reports of attacks or otherwise or just opinions on any of the above points then I’d much appreciate it.

The general gist of the essay, whilst striking a balance, will be that the legislation is not satisfactory and more needs to be done to protect the dogs and hold owners more accountable.
Chris
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

09-04-2013, 01:42 PM
Originally Posted by GuineaPigQueen View Post