Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
MaryS
Dogsey Senior
Female 

27-02-2008, 10:07 PM

Finnish Lapphund herding sheep

Thought I would share the most recent antics of my FL Ilo. She is 2.5 years and has been successful in the ring, obedience and agility. Her favourite occupation by a long way, however is herding sheep. In the past 9 months she has graduated from complete novice to moving more than 200 sheep through a series of up to 6 fields on Romney and Wallend Marshes in Sussex.
For those not familiar with the breed, they were originally used to herd reindeer for the nomadic Sami people of Finnish Lappland. They are an exceptionally social breed that feel it is their mission in life to investigate everything....dogs and people at a distance on a walk is a breed trait. I have found the herding training has improved my distance control hugely and local farmers are now pretty favourable in their comments about her abilities. One actually selects Ilo over a BC
I have some wonderful shots of her working ....as soon as I can fathom out the posting of images I shall upload some to share.
Out of interest Ilo is from show stock not the 'working' FL lines. Does anyone else use more unusual breeds for herding? Apparently one farmer locally uses Sammies but I've yet to locate him (haven't heard the yapping so not that close!)

Mary
pod
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

27-02-2008, 10:19 PM
Hi Mary. I've heard of a few people using Lapphunds on sheep, here in UK and in the States. I am impressed that you've accomplished this.... Lappunds do have a very different working style and are a lot more.... eh independant Well done.

I've got 3 oldies BTW
MaryS
Dogsey Senior
Female 

27-02-2008, 10:37 PM