Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Insomnia
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

17-06-2010, 07:06 AM

First upsetting walk...*rant*

Well, it's my first time having a walk like this, and hopefully my last!
I walk Axel every day before work, he doesn't need long walks and his stamina is still poor. I google-mapped my area this morning to find new and exciting places to walk him. I found a 'hidden' little park (more like a large garden with a poo bin and bench) just 2 streets away. Jackpot! I merrily walked Ax at 6.50am to find it and passed a man standing with hands on his hips in his driveway with a dog behind him. I guessed he was just waiting for me and my dog to pass.
As there was no dogs/cats at the park, I let him have the full length of his lead to explore and enjoy himself. He had a great time pottering around and sniffing.

As we left the 'park', thinking how lovely it was to have found somewhere he likes for the mornings, the same man was standing on the corner again hands on hips. I crossed the road thinking his dog perhaps didn't like other dogs.

He suddenly shouted across the road "Did you clean up after your dog?" To which I could honestly reply "Yes". (I keep my poo bags and keys in my bra for the early morning walk). He then went into a long rant about how that 'park' was for residents of the local area only, and as part of neighbourhood watch he kept an eye out as "everyone always" comes with their dogs from "all over" to use that area as a toilet. I can understand his frustration, but I felt quite told off. There was NO sign that I could see stating it was for residents only, it wasn't gated off or anything. He went on for about 5 minutes ranting about this and that, and said he's had lots of problems. I explained I just wanted to walk my dog before work and I always pick up after him. He asked where I lived and I told him the street, he informed me there's a 'big' park up there (no there isn't). Surely a dog is allowed some variety?!