View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
silverbeetle
Dogsey Junior
Female 

03-11-2010, 08:49 AM

Nail clipping - catching the quick, how to stop bleeding?

After six months of patiently coaxing and trying to cut my westie pup's nails I have finally been able to start clipping them (the groomer and vet said he would need to be sedated to do this).

I am doing a little very slowly as I am new to this and all seemed to be going well until I caught the quick - he has very dark nails and it is difficult to see, the groomer had told me the quick was very near the end so I was only taking a tiny bit off each nail. There was so much blood and it was so difficult to get it to stop. I had some cotton bud things filled with styptic type stuff from Pets at Home but these did not work.

When the groomer caught them she used some powder which stopped the bleeding immediately - does anyone know the name of this powder or can recommend something to stop the bleeding?

I would be really grateful for any advice as I need to be able to do them myself as I do not want to have Freddie sedated to clip his nails. I am now nervous about catching the quick again.

Many thanks
Meg
Supervisor
Female  Diamond Supporter 

03-11-2010, 09:26 AM
Hi Janette cut nails do bleed a lot it can be quite scary and if nails are left to grow long the quick grows further down the nail. Very little will stop the bleeding, it should eventually stop on its own. A very old remedy used to be to stick the nail in a bar of soap which blocks the nail . As with any bleeding applying pressure helps, holding a piece of cotton wool (moist to stop it sticking)tightly against cut edge of the nail for as long as possible.

It is difficult with black nails, I cut a fraction at a time making sure when I apply the clipper blade that the bit I am cutting is 'hollow' .