Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
saraj
New Member!
Female 

09-02-2009, 08:25 PM

6 month black lab behaviour

Hi Everyone, this is my first time posting on this site and I'm so glad to have found it, I'm really hoping you can help. I have a 6 month of female black lab, she's gorgeous in every way and is great with obedience but the two things I can't seem to get control of is her jumping up at people and her mouthing (I haven't a clue how to teach bite inhibition and she really is biting too hard!). My brother has cerebral palsy and can't use his one arm at all, so he isn't able to move it out of the way when she jumps up and 'mouths'. When we're out walking, I can hardly hold on to the lead to stop her jumping at passers by and she's pulled me over twice. It's never out of aggression, she just seems to think everyone should be her best friend! When walking as a little pup, so many people stopped to fuss her and I do wonder if this has anything to do with it. I just wondered if anyone had any suggestions to stop the jumping up at visitors to our house, but more so, to stop her jumping at people walking by when we got out on the lead. Also, how do you stop a lab from mouthing too hard? One thing I did notice was that at 6 months, her behaviour seemed to get worse. She is being spayed on Friday, will this make any difference?

Any help would be very much appreciated.
jesterjenn
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

09-02-2009, 08:31 PM
For the jumping. In the house however. When she goes to jump up someone, get the person to turn around and to ignore her until she is doing the required behaviour (either sitting or all four paws on the floor etc)

For mouthing, the way I taught my dog to stop (she was a 20 month old rescue GSD that did this - OW) is when she does it, leave whatever she is mouthing there, and say OW really loudly (not quite a shout but as if you had just been punched really hard). This worked with Jess, so hopefully it will work with your beauty