Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Deccy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

06-01-2006, 11:57 PM

What keeps YOU going?

I have been showing at Champ shows for ten years with very mixed results. There are many in my position who don't even get as far as qualifying for Crufts but enter most shows regardless of their bad days and keep on year after year. I have often wondered what drives some people to keep going regardless; I know for some, it is the social side or a good day out, and the possibility that they will go up a step from their previous ambition. I have always had a gradual increase in ambition, for example when I started, I wanted a card. Didn't matter that it may be VHC or Reserve out of four entries - it was something to pin up. Then I looked for something slightly better and in the end it went something like this:-

Get a place card, any position
Get a place card and actually beat another dog
Get a card at every general and breed championship show in the UK
Ditto with the same dog
Get a Crufts qualifying place (this took my first bitch all the way to Post Graduate before she obliged )
Get a Crufts qualifying place not by default (Dunno why, still counts eh?)
Win a class
Ditto with at least one other dog in the ring
Get BPIB
Get a RCC or other means of achieving a stud book number
Get a CC
Get 3 CCs

I haven't thought any further ahead than that! so far I have managed 8 out of the 12 "ambitions" so I have a long way to go yet
If the above may be likened to a ladder, I have fallen off it a few times and now I have moved to Ireland after Green Stars and CACIBs I am back at the bottom - well, nearly

So - for those of you who are not prolific winners yet - what keeps YOu going?
Ice_Queen
Dogsey Junior
Female 

07-01-2006, 12:39 AM