Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
AJL
Dogsey Junior
Male 

01-01-2007, 01:14 PM

Introducing a puppy (2nd dog) into a home

Hi, i was just wondering if I could get some advise from the collective!

We are thinking of a 2nd pug but not a decision we will take lightly.

As some may know we made some basic mistakes with saffy but are confident that we wont make same ones with a second pug.

However, are there any dynamics we should be aware of with regards to adding a puppy to our home?

I guess my main fears are them not getting on for whatever reason - how do we minimise this? Saffy sleeps in the kitchen at night - should the puppy also be here. I worry they may have some disagreements!

Sorry for the basic level of questions and if people feel there is a website to point me towards that would also be useful
Losos
Fondly Remembered
Male 

01-01-2007, 07:46 PM
Hi AJL
Well, please don't take my comments as gospel, I'm not an expert, trainner, or any kind of doggie proffessional, also we have two girls so it may be quite a different scene with boys, anyway, here's what we did.

First girl at 11 weeks didn't settle too well (Turns out the breeder had taken her back from an unsuccessful placing) when she was just past one year old we got another girl (7 weeks old)

From the beginning our first dog made sure that the newcommer knew her place in the hierachy, demonstrated the usual 'dominance' behaviour, and generally made sure that everyone knew who was the top dog.

Now they get on well, they indulge in 'play' fights occassionaly but never any blood drawn.

You may find the new puppy will want to hide behind the furniture, or under the bed, until he is confident your other dog won't eat him.

We always treat our two absolutely equal, same meals, same beds, same trainning, same everything. IMHO that's important.

Don't know if that helps. Like I say it's not 'expert' opinion, just what happened with us.
Meg
Supervisor
Female  Diamond Supporter