View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Archaeopath
Almost a Veteran
Female 

14-03-2005, 02:04 PM

Dog evolution and archaeology - long (sorry)

Hiya

I thought the evolution debate should move to its own thread instead of hijacking the pack theory thread any longer! I should say, I'm no expert in this field - I used to be an osteologist, with some knowledge of archaeozoology and evolution. Now I'm a forensic anthropologist, consulting to the police on murder enquiries.

To answer Stans post:

Osteoarchaeology, fascinating area what made you move from that and what area are you working in now?
I moved from osteology as there's simply no money in it. Archaeology is the lowest paid profession in the UK - graduates average around £10K a year. Much as I loved it, I didn't love it enough to live on the breadline for the rest of my life. I'd already done some medicine during my undergrad degree, so I did a couple more degrees in forensic medicine and anthropology.

Perhaps you could answer me a couple of questions what do perceive as the true age of the dog? the two pieces of archaeological evidence which tends to point to dogs being around some 12000 years ago, a grave with a human and a what is believed to be a canid puppy,(though could be a young Wolf) and a dwelling that had what appears to be a canid tooth, once again could be small Wolf.