Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
AliceandDogs
Dogsey Senior
Female 

09-03-2007, 09:18 PM

A lead?

Just a reminder before I post, I'm totally new to this and know nothing, so please ignore my stupidness

At the ringcraft class they told us to get a certain type of collar/lead, a slip collar I think it was called? I looked in the local pet shops but couldn't find anything that looked like what the other people had. I looked online and found a few, but the people said it would look nice if we got a grey or a white one, as he is a grey merle and I can't find them anywhere. Any help?
Mahooli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

09-03-2007, 09:21 PM
You don't have to have a slip lead for your dog! I'm not sure what breed you are showing but I use a slim lead and a half check fine collar.
Becky
AliceandDogs
Dogsey Senior
Female 

09-03-2007, 09:39 PM
A border collie

We have a nylon buckle thing and a lead, just your average lead.
Miss Potter
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

09-03-2007, 10:09 PM
I go to dog shows (mainly to spend money, but also to enjoy the atmosphere).
I have found that Luxway have a huge range of show and 'normal' leads in all colours.
I do not know how to do a link, but they have an online shop, just do a search for Luxway dog supplies!
Good Luck and happy spending!
Ripsnorterthe2nd
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

09-03-2007, 11:29 PM
I would agree that Luxway do a brilliant range - there was tons at Crufts. After going to Crufts however, I would avoid their leather leads etc as they don't seem the best quality.

Here's their link, although sadly they don't have any pics???
http://www.luxwaycanine.co.uk/default.asp

Below is what I bought for my first show lead, not too dear and good to give you ideas about what you really want:

http://www.showleads.co.uk/lead_details.asp?name=Braid%20Slip%20Lead

Have a look around the above site as it can give a really good idea about what you want or like the look of.