Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Miss Potter
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

19-05-2005, 07:39 PM

arthritis/spondylitis

Is there anything I can do for my 7 year old Goldie. She has just been diagnosed with arthriris in her back knees and spondylitis in her upper spine. She is coping on Metacam and I am going to start some Glucosamine supplements. Have been told to cut down her walking.
Is there anything else I can do to stop it progressing?
Lucky Star
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

19-05-2005, 07:51 PM
I don't know too much about this but glucosamine and cod liver oil are good. My friend across the road has a SBT and he is on these, plus a diet of cooked meat, veg and potato.

Some say that grains can affect arthritis - I have no personal knowledge of this though.

Poor Goldie, hope she copes okay.
:smt049
Moli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

19-05-2005, 08:10 PM
My 6 years old boxer mollie was diagnosed with spondylosis in her lower spine and mild hip displaysia about 2 years ago, she is on a supplement called cosequin which contains glucosamine and is on cod liver oil daily..I flat walk her about an hour each day, and keep her weight down, I let her do basically what she wants, she seems to know her limits, we do have the odd day when she gets stiff and sore but not very often.She is not on pain killers as such, just when she needs them.She also has a checkup at the vets every 3 months and up till now her condition has not progressed....The only other things I do is lift her in and out of the car, and bought her a soft bed..
Hope this helps...Pat.
Miss Potter
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

19-05-2005, 09:00 PM
Originally Posted by Moli