Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Ripsnorterthe2nd
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

01-10-2010, 06:35 PM

Claiming From Pet Insurance?

I need a bit of help here as I'm new to claiming from Pet Insurance and I'm not really sure the best way to go about it!

Oscar has been to the vet for a torn ear tip. To cut a long story short I've mentioned to the vet that I think he might have an issue with his blood clotting factors due to other issues and it cropping up in a couple of other HWVs. For the time being they've taken a blood sample to check his clotting and given me some cream to put on it. It's likely he'll have to be sedated at a later date to have it debrided etc.

The thing I need to know is, do I put the claim in now, or wait for the results and claim for both the blood tests and debridement if and when it happens? If I do put the claim in now, will the insurers then refuse my claim for the debridement saying it's a pre existing condition due to the cream and blood tests.
JackieandMia
Dogsey Senior
Female 

01-10-2010, 06:42 PM
Put the claims in whenever you're happy doing so if you're happy to wait then just put one claim in if not then claim as you go along. If you have a policy where conditions are only covered for 12 months that will go from the date you saw the vet not the date you put a claim in so won't make any difference whether you claim now or wait. Although i have heard that some companys have a cut off date for claims of x amount of days from date of treatment so best thing for you to do really would be to read your policy.
Ripsnorterthe2nd
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

01-10-2010, 07:23 PM
Ok great, thanks.
peedie
Almost a Veteran
Female 

02-10-2010, 07:33 AM