Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
kirsty_
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

06-01-2012, 05:10 PM

Treats/chews for teeth cleaning

Hi, can anyone recommend any treats or chews that are good for helping clean teeth. Rex is 9 (yorkie x) and hes starting to get bad teeth so was thinking about giving him dentastix? wanted to see if there is anything better than them though. Does anyone find dentastix actually help?
He has stagbars which do really help but are quite pricey.
Thanks
Muddiwarx
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

06-01-2012, 07:34 PM
Raw chicken wings
Kerryowner
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

06-01-2012, 07:37 PM
Don't think the dental chewy things are good at removing plaque-they just stop it building up I think.
krlyr
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

06-01-2012, 07:43 PM
Check out the natural chews on Zooplus, far better than the rubbish like Dentastix.
KKH
Dogsey Junior
Female 

06-01-2012, 07:52 PM
Hi, I am a Newbie, but we've been giving our dogs dentastix [or supermarket alternatives] for years......and I don't think they do much good to be honest.

I know it's a case of 'they could be worse if we hadn't given them' - but we'll never know.

My sister bought a boy from the same litter as our two girls [they were 10 last October] and his teeth are white and lovely - both our girls have a build up of plaque.

I've tried brushing them - they REALLY don't like that! We give dog biscuits and a good quality mixer - and nothing seems to help.

My sister feeds Jim [the brother] all sorts of the wrong type of food....bits from their plates etc, and we've never done this - it's just like humans I suppose....some are lucky and have good teeth, and some aren't so lucky!! I hasten to add that he does have dog biscuits and dental sticks daily as well.