Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Gaspode
Dogsey Junior
Female 

30-10-2007, 03:39 PM

Swapping dogs in a handling class??

Is it right??

I'm a fair Novice at this showing game and today I was entered into an adult handling class. It was my first one so I'm a little unsure of the rules. Can someone please tell me: If judging has already started and a competitior is having trouble handling the dog they came into the ring with, are they allowed to swap it for another more manageable dog??

JoedeeUK
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

30-10-2007, 04:01 PM
Originally Posted by Gaspode View Post
Is it right??

I'm a fair Novice at this showing game and today I was entered into an adult handling class. It was my first one so I'm a little unsure of the rules. Can someone please tell me: If judging has already started and a competitior is having trouble handling the dog they came into the ring with, are they allowed to swap it for another more manageable dog??

The purpose of a handling class is to show how well you can handle a dog, so if the dog is difficult & you cope you are a better handler IMHO than one who has a compliant dog.

Some junior handlers used to handle my Beardies in handling classes & they used to take turns in handling the nortiest one :smt002 who wasn't really norty if given the right commands(no good girl for her )which they used to do after allowing her to misbehave a bit. LOL the one handling the norty one usually placed highest !
Gaspode
Dogsey Junior
Female 

30-10-2007, 04:34 PM
Thanks Dyane - I did think the handler who copes better proves a point more. But, should she have been allowed to swap in the first place??
thandi
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

30-10-2007, 04:40 PM
not if the class is already started, no.
Gaspode
Dogsey Junior
Female 

30-10-2007, 04:43 PM
So, potentially I was robbed - the woman who swapped went on to win the class! Should I have complained at the time?