Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
oldshep52
Dogsey Junior
Male 

30-04-2009, 04:05 PM

Working Sheep

Apologies if there are already a number of posts on this but I cannot seem to get the search area working. However, i was wondering how many forum members who are not professional farmers or shepherds work their dogs with sheep and also about some of the issues that they have encountered.
Moobli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

30-04-2009, 04:34 PM
Hi there

My hubby is a shepherd, but I trained and worked my two collies on sheep as a hobby before I met him.

I encountered lots of issues with my first collie It was a case of the blind leading the blind, as I was a novice (at the time) training a pup. His worst fault was running through the middle of the flock and gripping. My second collie came part-trained, and was much easier to handle!

Do you train your collie on sheep as a hobby? What kind of issues are you having?
oldshep52
Dogsey Junior
Male 

30-04-2009, 04:41 PM
four and a half yr old red and white bitch that I train on a mixed flock of Herdwick, Black Welsh, Badger Face and Balwen (never sure of the spelling). Bearing in mind she is a rescue that we took on at 18mnth and with little known about her apart from that she came from Wales, she is actually doing quite well. However she does have a tendency to be one sided and she will keep going round them! Still, she has a good stop, uses her shoulder and not her mouth and will bring the sheep to me. She will never make trials standard (that will be the next dog) but she will make a competent stock dog. It also means that i have discovered one of the most rewarding and fascinating of past times, that of an amateur shepherd!
Moobli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

30-04-2009, 04:55 PM
Excellent. It sounds as though you are having a lot of fun with her. Is she your first? Any working pics. If you have a nosey in this section you will see plenty of working sheepdog photos from me