Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Luthien
Dogsey Senior
Female 

19-03-2011, 04:39 PM

Advice on whistle training?

At the moment, all I am using a whistle for is recall, but I would like to try other stuff with Jake.

For recall I am giving two blasts. I also put my hand up to the side, then bring it down in front of me when he is getting close.

Now, though I say it myself, Jake is fantastic at this, even if he is running the other way he immediately turns and flies at me However, because he IS so good, I am a bit wary about confusing him. For instance, if I wanted him to wait for 1 blast, and he ran at me. Much as I'd like to do more, I don't wont the recall to suffer.

I hope that made sense.
SLB
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

19-03-2011, 05:10 PM
Hmmm - I'm quite new at it and I'm still trying to work out whether Louie comes better to a long blow or two pips.

I know Leanne has her's trained to come at 3 pips, and I believe 2 pips is "This way" and a slow blow means sit for Flynn - he's brilliant at it - I was in awe!

At first I didn't want Louie to do anything other than come to the whistle - so I've ruined it and am now paying the price and going back to re training it.

What you could try is getting someone else to command him the wait and have you blow the whistle - so he partners the command to the whistle - I'm not sure if it would work but it worth a try if no one else has any suggestions.

Good luck
ClaireandDaisy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

19-03-2011, 05:26 PM
I do a whistle for Stop!. That`s useful in lots of situations. I use one short blast and a raised hand. I expect the dog to sit and stay, watching me. Down stay is good too. I just want the dog to remain still.
I train the dog to sit to the whistle (I use hand signals as well as voice so it doesn`t take long for them to get it with just hand signal + whistle).