Our sister sites
Our sister sites
elaineb
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-05-2008, 11:37 AM

Nervous pup

Hello everyone I am a newbie.
I have just got a rescue border collie cross. he is 6 months old and is fine if a bit nervy.
What I want to know is this. Will he be able to gain his confidence esp around other dogs. I think he may well have been attacked at an early age. He is fine sometimes and will play with other dogs. But when he comes up to dogs or they come up to him he immedialtly goes on his back and show his belly.
He does so want to play. . .how can I help him gain confidence? Is it just a case of keep walking him and meeting other dogs. He is also very nervous around traffic.
youngstevie
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-05-2008, 01:48 PM
Bruce was submissive alot of the time, but over the period he's gaining more confidence, we don't make a big thing out of it, we just let other dogs come round him and as I say he's not dropping over onto his back everytime now.
Plus with car/traffice, again he seemed worried about that, but I took him lead walking at least twice daily around the roads, now he's not showing the signs so much.
It just a case of reassuring them IMO he's been on a bus now...which he hated at first but now he's fine, next step the train.
I just say 'It's ok' in a soft voice, he seems more reassured now. Sounds like your doing the right thing. Enjoy your little one
elaineb
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-05-2008, 01:55 PM
Thanks youngstevie
I have never had a rescue dog before, I have just lost my wonderful Boxer Jake and could not live in the house without a dog so we opted for the rescue dog and I am so glad I did he is so loving. We are thinking of a pup maybe next year. I want a Newfoundland but I need to save up the pennies first!!
youngstevie
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-05-2008, 03:26 PM
Originally Posted by elaineb View Post
Thanks youngstevie