View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
sperera
Dogsey Junior
Male 

25-07-2012, 01:06 AM

Have I picked the correct form of training?

Hi everyone,

I am looking for opinions.

I am new to dog training. I have recently recused a neglected 8 month old male german shephard (pure) who was out of control when we first got him.

2.5 weeks ago I started training through dog tech. 1 on 1 training in our home. i have noticied a fairly large difference in Simba (our GS) since training started but I am unsure if I have selected the best method.

The company is called dog tech and they use very gentle whisper based training. Please dont get me wrong I am very against cruelty to animals and love dogs but I want a obediant dog that is pleased and happy to listen to instructions, also a dog that knows its place in the family if you know what I mean. My ultimate goal is to also be able to take Simba off the lead to play and wonder when I go for a walk without having to worry he will run off and never come back or worse attach another dog.

Simba, before finding us, never had boundaries set and has been suffereing from seperation. When new he wouldnt let me touch his back, i believe he was trying to be dominant. This is no longer and issue but after 2.5 weeks if solid training following my traniners advice 100% i just though I would be a bit further along.

I whisper walk Simba 10 mintues every day, tether him for an hour every night and spend lots of time together.

Hope ive included everything and again just looking for opinions on if i am doing the right thing. This method of trining is quite expensive in my opinion and the last thing I want is to spend time and money on a method that wont work or worse yet create work I will have to un-do down the line.....
Lizzy23
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

25-07-2012, 05:51 AM