View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
View Poll Results: How do you train?
I am 100% positive with my dog(s) 10 30.30%
I only use deterants/consequences for serious situations 14 42.42%
I'm happy to use deterants/consequences whenever necessary. 9 27.27%
Voters: 33. You may not vote on this poll - please see pinned thread in this section for details.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 4 > Last »
firefox
Dogsey Senior
Female 

21-03-2010, 06:48 PM

Are you 100% positive?

Do you only ever use positive training/treats or do you sometimes raise your voice, use training discs etc to deter behaviour?

I try very hard to be really positive with my Loki, which can be hard as he is uber-confident and fearless and (much like my son) thinks he can do whatever he likes at times!

It's also hard because, I have to say, that when I was a child our local trainer was Barbara Woodhouse, so I've grown up with the 'no treat' approach to training. That's just how we did it and we had beautiful loving, loyal dogs. No bonding issues - just happy, loving, reasonably well behaved dogs.

I don't agree with negative training - I'm a teacher and I know with children you get much happier, better, more consistent results if the children are doing it because they want to rather than because you just tell them to, but on the other hand they sometimes just need you to tell them 'that's enough.'
There's nothing wrong with that. I don't claim that my children are part of my pack or that I need to 'dominate them' but they still need to know who's boss on occasion!

So, wondering who trains 100% positively, and who uses the odd consequence - and which ones?

It'd be really lovely if this was just a nice chatty onformative thread and not one where you feel you can't possibly mention that you occasionally get snappy at your dog in case someone tells you you're a bad person (But of course that woul never happen on here! )
labradork
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

21-03-2010, 07:18 PM