Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Jenny234
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-11-2005, 05:47 PM

leasehold properties and dogs

hi guys, we;'re almost at the stage of completion with buying our house. I phoned the solicitor the other day to check about takin indie with us as its leasehold and the solicitor said that on the lease it says no pets. So ive asked them to ask to landlord for permission and we;re waiting to hear back.
Does anyone know anything about this? the estate agent is under the impression that all leases say no pets and the landlord sometimes lets it slide.

Im really worried now we wont get this place as we wont go there without indie. Nor do we just want to take her without askin as we wud then have to get rid of her if they found out anyway! and thats again not an option
Kazz
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-11-2005, 05:52 PM
Hi Jen

I am no expert in fact know nothing but what so ever.

But if they do say you can have pets - get it in writing and make sure it is water tight and that it also includes any future pets you may get.
Jenny234
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

12-11-2005, 05:54 PM
well when we looked at a previous property that was also leasehold the lady who owned it originally said that the lease said no pets, but when she asked the landlord he said i could have one small dog if it wasnt noisy and could get no more if that one died. But.. it also meant if someone complained i would have to give up the dog.
I assume this is the same, but dont know
royv
Dogsey Senior
Male 

12-11-2005, 07:52 PM
Firstly, I am not a lawyer ...

Now that's out of the way, a large proportion of leasehold properties have the "no pets allowed" clause, probably because the other leaseholders of the flats/lodgings etc in the same location might object to noise, nuisance etc.

There may be a new phrase in use:

‘The keeping of pets that could harm the property, or be of a nuisance to the
neighbours is prohibited’.