Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
angieh
Dogsey Junior
Female 

23-01-2011, 02:59 PM

General question about a dog and it's master

I am new to dogs or rather hope to be in due course. My OH is used to them.

My general question is - would it be too much to expect of a pup to have basic training given to it by two people? Should a dog be trained by just one?

I understand that our commands should be the same!
ClaireandDaisy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-01-2011, 03:15 PM
As long as you`re using the same methods. a dog will respond to you both.
Some breeds tend to bond to one person, but can be trained to work for others as well.
Crysania
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-01-2011, 03:16 PM
Nope it's not too much at all! It's best if both people are involved in training. The thing is you need to agree on what commands are for what, otherwise it can get confusing for the dog (e.g. one person uses "down" to mean "lay down" and another means "stop jumping on me").

With our dog, I went to training class and then came home and taught my partner what we had been working on so he could use the same commands. She responds well to us both!
angieh
Dogsey Junior
Female 

23-01-2011, 04:26 PM
Originally Posted by ClaireandDaisy View Post
As long as you`re using the same methods. a dog will respond to you both.
Some breeds tend to bond to one person, but can be trained to work for others as well.
We have sort of decided on a Mini Schnauzer - do you know if it's one of the "one person" bonders you mention here?

Thanks for that - good news. I'd prefer to avoid an "it's your dog" situation.
Duck
Dogsey Junior
Female 

23-01-2011, 04:30 PM
there was me and my friend who trained jasper altho jasper is mine he responds better to my friend and plays up more for me and we both do the same methods and we both go to the training lessons together.
ClaireandDaisy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-01-2011, 04:48 PM
Originally Posted by angieh View Post