Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
rachel83a
New Member!
Female 

17-10-2007, 06:31 PM

New Basset puppy vs our first Basset !

Hi - I am new to Dogsey - I was wondering if anyone has any advice??

We have a 14mth basset (Hamish) and now have another puppy who is around 13 weeks old (Homer). We got the second puppy as a companion for Hamish - he would howl the place down when we went out and became very very anxious. We also thought it would be nice for him to have a friend to play with when they went out on walks (most dog owners we encounter don't let their dogs play with other dogs on their walks and drag their dogs past us when Hamish wants to say hi to them !)

We are having some problems. Hamish is now even more possessive than before. He used to steal things to get attention - now he steals and won't give back (he has bitten me 4 times!) He now gets quite aggressive when you try and take things from him ie. mobile phones, cd's... I am worried that he continues like this and he bites a child or stranger/visitor.

Both Hamish and Homer seem to just nip at each other quite alot (tonight they have been really bearing their teath at each other and so I put Homer in Time out - the kitchen and he bit me!) I know that Hamish needs to assert that he is top dog but Homer seems to be putting up a huge fight with no sign of letting up!

Has anyone else had these problems? I am not expecting all our problems to be fixed over night (we recently have just trained Hamish to go to his own bed and not sleep on ours)

I know a lot has changed for poor Hamish over the last 8 weeks with a new puppy and also sleeping in his own bed but how long is this going to last!!! We try and favour Hamish over Homer but I am now worried that Homer feels left out as everything Hamish has Homer wants!!

Any advice is greatly appreciated/
thanks,
Rachel
Mahooli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

17-10-2007, 06:55 PM