Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
catrinsparkles
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

26-05-2013, 09:33 PM

Muzzle for Remus.

I've never used one on a dog before but I have ordered a muzzle for Remus.

I feel it's the sensible thing to do as he has a low pain tolerance and has not been used to being handled as a little pup. He growls as a warning if he doesn't like something myself or the children are doing, but has become a lot less growls recently

I took him to the vets yesterday to check on his eyes and he's so different to be with compared to Tonks there. He's friendly but also fidgety and definitely disliked having his face held and eyes looked in....completely fair enough...but I feel that if he were to be in real pain at the vets I'm not sure how much self control he would be able to show, and its better safe than sorry. At least this way I can get him used to wearing one in case it's ever needed.

I've ordered him a ultra Baskerville muzzle which is supposed to be soft, light and comfortable. I'll be shaping him in to it once it arrives. .....get his little mind working too.
BlueJay
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

26-05-2013, 09:38 PM
Grayson had one of those muzzles when he started losing it.
I hated it on him because of the whole situation, but he didn't seem too bothered by it so it can't have been uncomfortable - easy to put on too

Hope he takes ok to it!
catrinsparkles
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

26-05-2013, 09:40 PM
Well we're in no rush.....hoping he won't seriously injure himself soon!.... so we'll just start the training when it arrives.
mjfromga
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

26-05-2013, 09:42 PM
Jade has a Baskerville muzzle. They are great. They ARE soft, and even though the rubber is tough, they bend too! I have to use hers a lot, and she doesn't mind it at all.

BTW, the vets always have a muzzle on hand if you have an aggressive dog, so I doubt you'd need your own for the vets.