View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Emm
Dogsey Veteran

06-10-2005, 09:05 PM

A question for all the gardners out there

Hi I have a question for all those with gardening knowledge.
I am finally planning to put some plants in my garden - I am going to start with the front and would like either a small tree in a tub or a climbing plant. It is south facing so it gets the heat of the sun ( on the rare occasion that happens in Scotland ) but it is also exposed in winter.

So what do you recommend - a small tree in a tub or climbing plant and which type would suit?
I want to start feeding the birds and feel the front of my garden would be safer because the way my house is designed the cats only go out the back. I was hoping the tree or shrub would provide some where for the birds to sit on.

I really need help because I have never done any gardening before
maplecottage
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

06-10-2005, 10:05 PM
Emm a great place to check out is crocus.co.uk

It gives you great plant advice and tells you what plants where, which plants are toxic to dogs/cats etc and what plants grow best in a particular type of soil.

I'm pretty new to this gardening hobby and was advised the first thing to do was to find out what type of soil you have - you can get a ph testing kit for around £1 from most good garden centres.

Also a good thing to think about is planning your planting on which seasons they flower so you can get all year round colour in different areas of the garden.

Also what style you like, whether it is country cottage, urban style, sunny siesta styling, french romance