Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Malka
Dogsey Veteran
Female  Diamond Supporter 

13-07-2014, 12:48 PM

Are Retractable Leashes Safe for Dogs?

Once touted as the best thing since sliced bread because they allow your dog extra freedom while still being on-leash, these flexible leashes are now being banned by many doggy daycare, pet retail, and grooming facilities.

As a dog trainer, I cringe when I see a client come in on a flexi-lead. Usually the first thing out of their mouth is then, "my dog pulls constantly!” I usually have to hold my tongue at this point because I really want to say something like this:

"Oh you have your dog on a leash that lets him roam free. He must stay right next to you all the time."

Instead, I say something along the lines of "well, you are using an extendable leash that rewards your dog with freedom when he pulls.”

These leashes are a great way to teach your dog to pull. They are the worst way to try and teach your dog loose leash walking or heel. Not only do they reward your dog when they pull, but when they come back to you, or try to give you "loose leash” they are "corrected” by losing their freedom (leash retracts). So why on Earth would your dog ever come back to you?
Full article and pictures here...

http://www.dogchannel.com/dog-lifest...-for-dogs.aspx

What are your views on retractable leashes?
Fourlegz
Almost a Veteran
Female 

13-07-2014, 12:52 PM
As with most things I reckon it's down to how the owner uses these things and how much responsibility they choose to show (or not).
Meg
Supervisor

13-07-2014, 12:55 PM
Don't like them never use them .
cava14una
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

13-07-2014, 02:56 PM
They have their place if used properly.