Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Othala
Dogsey Junior
Female 

19-10-2014, 06:28 PM

How do I stop my puppy from biting?

Mya is only 8 1/2 weeks old, so I know she's not biting to be mean, she's teething. I got her a couple puppy teething toys and I try to swap out my hand, my shoe, whatever it is she's biting for one of her toys.

The problem is she doesn't seem to be "getting it" yet that she can't bite and I have no idea how to properly scold her.

Everything I've read says that you have to reprimand chihuahuas differently, but none of it says exactly how I should go about this. I don't want her to think it's okay to bite, but I don't want to scold her too harshly for teething, does that make sense?

Thanks in advance!
lovemybull
Dogsey Senior
Female 

20-10-2014, 02:08 AM
I have to say I have no experience with puppies. I know teething is a normal stage they go through but I don't know exactly how you recondition them. Callie was an adult when we adopted him. Apparently he went through "nippies" and never got past that stage.
I tried the method of turning away. The philosophy being that if you use your mouth on skin you will get no fun time or attention at all. Perhaps with some dogs this works just dandy. I ended up with a torn jacket and love bruises on my butt. Turning away from him obviously was not a wise idea. Then we discovered empty plastic bottles.

A puppy might be too small and might have teeth that can be damaged by hard plastic. But with Callie plastic bottles are his favorite treat. He would prance past a roast on the floor to have a fresh soda bottle tossed down.
More so than food or any other motivation plastic bottles have been a G-d send. We have them stashed all over the house. Any time he gets overly playful or mouthy he gets a bottle. He'll curl up with it gripped between his paws and gnaw until it's flattened. Then he usually curls up for a nap,
Just a suggestion
brenda1
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

20-10-2014, 08:01 AM