View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Tinglesnark
Dogsey Senior
Female 

18-02-2011, 06:25 PM

A question on the safety of half check collars & a hello!

Hiya first of all!

I have been AWOL! Life has been rather busy and i just had no time for online shenanigans. Dp had a hernia op and the boys both have tonsillitis and chest infections etc...i am rather tired!

The reason for my post is to find out the general consensus regarding the safety of half check collars when used in a training class.

I have NO issues with Delilah AT ALL, she walks well on her harness and she has a flat collar for her tag (i was considering a collar/harness connector just in case though) I am a die hard positive trainer and refuse to use any aids that i consider to be negative, cause pains, discomfort etc just like the majority of Dogsey folk

So i look forward to reading every one's opinions

BTW I have spoken to the trainer and she seemed to speak "my language" Of course the proof is in the pudding and i have taken on advice from other threads about checking out classes and only joining the right one for you and your dog.

I wonder if anyone in Kent has had experience of this trainer? She is based in Rochester - i don't like to mention her website though in case it is against the rules

Thanks in advance folks
ClaireandDaisy
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

18-02-2011, 06:30 PM
Safety in what way? I use half checks for my GSDs because they have heavy ruffs and need a collar that sits low. I`ve never had one break. But my dogs don`t pull.
Tinglesnark
Dogsey Senior
Female 

18-02-2011, 06:34 PM
In the way of not being a choke chain, I have never used one you see. What is the chain bit used for? Or is it just a comfort thing?

All questions that i suppose i should just call up and ask the trainer eh?
Dawes Paws
Dogsey Senior
Female 

18-02-2011, 06:47 PM