Our sister sites
Our sister sites
simonc
New Member!
Male 

28-04-2006, 12:39 PM

Dog photography

Hi,

I am not sure whether this is an appropriate place to ask the question, and please excuse me if it is not, but I am a photographer that was considering branching out into pet photography.

As enthusiastic dog owners, I was wondering if I could ask you whether you would be willing to pay for a studio quality pet photography service that came to your home? I would charge about £40-50 and photograph your pet in a contemporary style with a plain background and provide 1 10 x 8 print of your choice (from say 12) included in the price. Additional prints could be purchased at extra cost. There would be no time limit and I would bring all my equipment. I would only need an area of about 8 foot x 6 foot.

I feel that by being in familiar surroundings the dog would be more relaxed and a better picture could be created.

As you can tell this is only an idea and I am just researching the "market", so I would love to hear any feedback from you.

Thanks ever so much in advance.

Simon Colmer
trikeschick
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

30-04-2006, 11:01 AM
hi Simon

I wouldn't pay to have my pup photographed as I prefer my own shots - some of which have already been framed and anyway Suki wouldn't pose for just anyone in her own home. She'd be far too excited
PurpleJackdaw
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

30-04-2006, 12:34 PM
I wouldnt myself but I'm sure there are many dog owners out there who love to spoil their dogs and would love a service like this
Flipper
Dogsey Senior
Female 

30-04-2006, 12:34 PM
I used to help a friend out back in US doing pet photography, it was a blast...I think she used to charge around $75 (USD) and that would have to be about 8 years ago. The owners had one larger photo (with frame...they had a selection to choose from....Im not certain of the size but it was quite a bit bigger than 8x10) plus 'I think' about half a dozen smaller photos (maybe around 3x5).