Our sister sites
Our sister sites
kydandco
Dogsey Junior
Female 

07-02-2008, 02:37 PM

Advice Please - Using Drontal Plus

Hi all,

My rescue dog came with Drontal Plus worming tablet. I've never used this one before, what is the usual administration procedure?

She's doing really well - putting on weight nicely. Don't want to upset her, but no idea when she was last wormed so need to do it, especially since I have Ebony too.

Would welcome advice. Thanks
majuka
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

07-02-2008, 02:42 PM
Hi

Could you give the rescue a call and see if they remember when she was last wormed. Many vets recommend every 3 months but some people worm less than this.

I think Drontal plus is what Max has, does the packet have a Dogue de Bordeaux on the front of it? How much does your lab weigh? I'm not at home so don't have the packet to check the weights.
Fliggle
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

07-02-2008, 03:23 PM
I can't remember the dosage but I have used it on two of my dogs now and they've never had a problem with it.
kydandco
Dogsey Junior
Female 

07-02-2008, 03:35 PM
Hi Majuka,
Thanks for a prompt response. When I asked the rescue about worming they said they would pop a tablet in her pack - so assume she is 'due' a dose. Raegen is a German shorthaired Pointer - but VERY thin. Sadly, her owner never fed her and her bones are barely covered with flesh. She has put on some weight tho, and looks better already. No packet, I'm afraid, just a single tablet that says 1= 10kg.

Ebony is my flabmaster of a Lab. (She's on a diet and exercise regime!!) Her pic is my Avitar. She's a babe too!

Karen x
kydandco
Dogsey Junior
Female 

07-02-2008, 03:38 PM
Hi Fliggle - Need to know when to give it please. Is it morning before food? With food? Some food? I do not have any instructions at all and as I've never used it before I don't want to risk getting it wrong.

Many thanks,
Karen x
Fliggle
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

07-02-2008, 03:38 PM