Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Tonners
New Member!
Female 

22-01-2014, 12:28 PM

DogPacks: Old Question, New Tricks?

So, a Dogsey newbie here.

I've been researching the net and our forums here for information on packs, saddlebags, and backpacks for dogs, but most of the threads I've found here (save one) are older than 2010. With the newer years, I'm expecting that models of packs have likely changed, and wanted to prod at the topic myself.

I want to get a very small pack for Eevee, our rough collie. We need to get her out more for experience, like on walks, the park, etc., but after getting to know her, I believe she would benefit with a very light pack to concentrate on. Something besides me that she knows, and gives her a job/purpose. I only want one big enough to eventually carry poo sacks, maybe a backup leash/collar, ID, a transportable water/food bowl, maybe a tiny bit of kibble and/or treats, and water - I'm thinking about stopping at 12 ounces or so.

We're still building up her own physical prowess and taking it slow, because she isn't even a year yet and I don't want to damage her joints or muscle growth. We've actually only been to the park twice for no more than fifteen minutes at a time last summer, once she was trained up a bit and had her shots, wormer, etc. We'll start out with an empty bag of course, and slowly move up from there. We won't be mountain climbing or anything, but I always make sure we have plenty of water on me and in the vehicle- I like my "kids" happy and comfortable!