Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Murphy's Law
New Member!
Female 

23-10-2009, 07:32 PM

Advice needed - thinking of a new pup.

Hi

I currently have a 14 month old border collie dog who is very sociable, well trained and has been castrated. I would like to take on another puppy preferably a dog as I have no experience of bitches. I have been advised that 2 dogs may fight for dominance and that a bitch might settle in better.

Also my dog has his crate - should the new pup have their own crate?

Thanks

Emer
labradork
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-10-2009, 07:55 PM
I think care has to be taken with some breeds when keeping multiple males but I'm not sure if a BC is one of them. Generally however, I think if you know your dog inside out and you know that your dog is excellent with other dogs, you would probably be fine with a dog pup.

The pup definitely needs his own crate. I doubt your existing dog will appreciate a boisterous pup hogging his crate!
JoedeeUK
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

23-10-2009, 08:20 PM
Originally Posted by Murphy's Law View Post
Hi

I currently have a 14 month old border collie dog who is very sociable, well trained and has been castrated. I would like to take on another puppy preferably a dog as I have no experience of bitches. I have been advised that 2 dogs may fight for dominance and that a bitch might settle in better.

Also my dog has his crate - should the new pup have their own crate?

Thanks

Emer
All dogs can fight even dogs & bitches, however this usually occurs if the dogs are too close in age. A gap between dogs of at least 18 months & preferably 2 years. Two of mine are a bit close for me, but they are a dog & a bitch so there is no problem between them.

TBH few dogs(if any)fight over dominance. Food, toys, in season bitches yes.