Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Rolosmum
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

26-03-2011, 01:06 PM

Getting a new dog after one dies?

I have been reading about people getting new dogs after one dies, and wondering if it is easier to replace (edited to add 'let another into your life' cos i dont think replace was what i meant!) a loved pet if they werent the only dog you had.

I have no experience so have no idea how i will feel when the awful day comes, but reading experiences from a few forums it seems that if you are left with another dog, you dont feel the loss of your other dog any less, but maybe the process of getting another dog is more easily decided.

I have no opinion on right or wrong either way and hope not to have for many a year, but just wondered what people thought.
Pilgrim
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

26-03-2011, 01:17 PM
I have always had 2 dogs, sometime more, so I actually start thinking about getting a new dog in before the old/ill one has passed so the remaining dog isn't left on their own.

I lost my Morse in August last year and as he was going down hill I was already deciding what dog to get next, as Ozzy would hate being on his own for long. We got our new pup in January this year.

So I guess for me getting a new dog is simply a matter of course. You can never replace the one that has gone, that is an impossibility.
Sara
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

26-03-2011, 01:20 PM
I could never be without a dog, and after my old spaniel died, I adopted another special needs dog right away. It didn't make me grieve any less for Patches, but Zoe helped me focus my attention, and kept me out of the very serious depression I was heading towards. She was not meant to replace, but to be a companion of a different kind.