Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
firebird
Dogsey Junior
Female 

23-10-2009, 01:25 PM

Strange Behavior!

We have a one year old Lap / Shepherd mix and she starting to have some strange behavior! A few months ago she began pacing. She stares at the ground, tail straight up in the air and just walks back and forth for hours at a time. She’ll occasionally pounce and she lifts up her feet really weird almost like she’s walking on something sticky.
She first started this behavior outside so we assumed she was looking at bugs or flies…but she does this inside as well on our carpeted area and the hardwood.
Realistically I know this is not a horrible thing for her to do….she’s not physically hurting herself but we can’t figure out why or what she is doing.
I’ve grown up with family dogs but this is my first time being a ‘mom’ to one so I have no clue if some dogs are just weird and just have odd behavior or if there is an actual problem with her.
I should also mention that she is incredibly smart. She learns tricks very fast and is the most obedient dog. So that just adds to the mystery!
Just wondering if anyone has had the same experience or knows why she’s doing this!
Annajayne
Dogsey Senior
Female 

23-10-2009, 01:37 PM
Hi,

I am sure you are a great dog owner but I was just wondering if your dog got plenty of exercise and things to do. It is only a thought because I have a lab who is crazy if he doesn't run for one day. He has to go out for a couple of hours each day and then we make up games for him until he zonks out. I was a bit shocked when we first got him because I had never had such a high energy dog before (even though I have had a lab and other dogs before) he is nuts if he doesn't keep busy until he is tired.

This might not be any help but just thought it was worth a mention.
firebird
Dogsey Junior
Female 

23-10-2009, 01:48 PM