View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
hopelessdawn
Dogsey Junior
Female 

08-01-2007, 08:15 PM

I want to adopt a blind and deaf poodle any have experience with blind/deaf dogs?

I work at an animal shelter and we recently saved a blind and deaf 4 mth old poodle from being put to sleep at the city "kill" shelter. They figured this dog would pretty much be unadoptable. This dog was dropped at the shelter as it was bought as a puppy from a pet store and didn't listen to anyone in the family and and that something was wrong with it. When they took it to the vet , they were told it was blind and deaf. (this dog is only 4 mths old) I am thinking about adopting this dog, as I have fallen in love with him. I have no experience with either blind or deaf dogs but have been reading up on this before I decide. I do have two medium sized dogs (one is a pit/boxer and one is a foster dog a shepard mix) My question is does anyone have personal experience with a blind and deaf dog? Any info you can give me would be great Thanks!
wildmoor
Almost a Veteran
Female 

09-01-2007, 09:24 PM
Sorry only had a blind dog, he went blind at 10mths so had already had basic obedience, I used voice and made sure I was close if it was windy, I also trained my other dog to bring him back if he couldnt hear me because of the wind. Never had a dog that was both blind and deaf, normaly with a deaf dog you would teach hand signals but that will not help in your case, maybe someone else can help.
majuka
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

10-01-2007, 01:10 PM
My sister's lab (Sooty) was blind, but like Wildmoor's dog he was not born that way so he had been trained before he went blind. He also was familiar with the layout of the house.

He coped very well and led a full life. He did become quite dog-aggressive though as when he was being walked on the lead off-lead dogs did used to charge up to him and startle him.