View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Tyler2
New Member!
Female 

11-01-2013, 10:09 PM

Hi there. (Advice required for new puppy ).

Hi everyone, im new to the forum and soon to be new rodog ownership! We are getting our puppy in 5 weeks and busy getting prepared and reading up like mad! Sorry to ask advice straight off but would really appreciate some advice; so here goes... We will be getting our 8week old working type cocker spaniel female pup At the beginning of the half term holidays, im a part time teacher so we hope the 10days at home will help with the first stage of settling in.. Our pup will join our family of me and my husband and 2 (very excited) little boys aged 5 and 3 and also our 10 year old cat. When we return to work our pup will be alone for 4 hours a day (sometimes 3) and we want to work out the best way of minimising our pup's stress, boredom and loneliness and also damage to the house! We have an existing dog flap into a secure garden which is off our kitchen the living room can be secured so the pup can't access garden if we decide this isn't a good option when we're out. We are getting a crate for the pup to have a safe secure space but having read up on crate training know it isn't advisable/fair to leave a pup on a crate for 4 hours... So which option would you guys advise? A free run of downstairs and the garden ( we will put a gate at bottom of stairs so the pup can't get upstairs but cat can); give pup run of living room with open crate and training mat for toileting ( leaving the cat the run of outside and the kitchen) or something else I haven't considered yet?!! We are an active family and committed to giving the neccesary length of walking/play time our puppy will need at different stages of development.... Wow! long post - sorry - any advice would be really gratefully received!
Moli
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

11-01-2013, 10:39 PM
Hi, welcome to Dogsey........
Malka
Dogsey Veteran