Our sister sites
Adele-84
Dogsey Senior
Female 

08-11-2012, 10:06 PM

Flea dirt no fleas?!

Hi,
Not been on Dogsey for ages!
We have recently moved house and Maisy seems to have picked up fleas. I have not seen any fleas but keep finding small amounts flea dirt.
First I shampoo'd her with flea shampoo, no sign of any fleas just small amounts of flea dirt. Then applied the spot on (Bob Martin Flea Clear). Sprayed the whole house with flea home spray, washed all her bedding and blankets on hot. Vacumed everywhere and everything everyday. Sprayed inside the dyson with flea spray.
This was 2 days ago and yesterday I found no flea dirt on het. Today I have found a small amount on her again.
Does this mean the spot on is not working?
Could she be catching them from the garden? Is there something I can treat the garden with?

Should I be doing anything else?
Im new to this flea business!
Bitkin
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

08-11-2012, 10:21 PM
Are you absolutely sure that it is flea dirt? A quick way to check is to dampen a piece of tissue or something and dab it on the dirt........if it shows up as red or reddybrown, then yes it is probably fleas. If it stays black or grey then it might just be bits picked up from the bushes.

I am now scratching of course!! Is SHE scratching?

I am not sure about the effectiveness of Bob Martin to be honest, and as fleas seem to be becoming immune to some of the common spot ons, vets are prescribing different brands now, or even the new tablet form of protection. Some dogs never get the horrid things, and others pick them up all the time it seems........I am sure that very soon there will be people along with very good suggestions.
Adele-84
Dogsey Senior
Female 

08-11-2012, 10:36 PM
Originally Posted by Bitkin View Post