View our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Regan_and_Gunny
New Member!
Female 

09-08-2012, 11:00 PM

Please help with training a dog on the see-saw?

I have been doing agility with this dog for 4 years, but this is his first year using the see-saw. And he is terrified of it. I have never let it fall on him before, but as soon as he THINKS he feels it start to move he bails. He's a Great Pyrenees, and so it is going to fall quickly with him, even guided. I think if I can get him to do it a couple of times he would be fine. But he's too afraid to try. And, since the approach of the dog walk is very similar in appearence to the see-saw, it takes awhile for him to go on the dog walk now, too. I just need advice before I permanently make him afraid of the see-saw and/or dog walk. Please share your wisdom and ideas!
Ben Mcfuzzylugs
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

10-08-2012, 12:10 AM
Aww yes my Ben was a bit scared of it - and muddled it and the dog walk up quite a bit too - which ment crawling up the dog walk or flying the see-saw

I would prob go back to foundation things of getting him used to things moving under his feet - I know some people teach dogs to shut drawers and things
A wobble board can help - a bit of wood with a tennis ball under it

With Ben I made a see-saw in the sitting room and put treats all over it and let him investigate it for a day or so
Then for a week every time we were going to go out for a walk I would put him over it once then right out for the walk
By the end of the week when I was putting my shoes on he ran off and did it on his own

I would also give very clear commands for the difference between them - some dogs can see the difference - others cant - so with the dog walk I just say 'go on' and I run like h£ll
For the see-saw I yell 'tip tip tip and stop just before the tipping point

Good luck with it
smokeybear
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

10-08-2012, 05:22 AM