Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Our sister sites
Helen
Dogsey Veteran
Female 

20-01-2012, 04:30 PM

Riding - confidence issuts

Bit of background. I started riding over 2 years ago and things were going great, until I fell off. I was cantering without stirrups, and the pony spooked and I fell off. That REALLY knocked my confidence and it took almost a year to get back to a stage where I could canter. I have fallen off 4 times now and that actual falling off bit, doesn't bother me! I'm not sure what it is.

I was having joint lessons with my sister and things were going great - I would have the odd blip but nothing too bad. We even jumped. Just before we stopped having joint lessons (needed to have separate due to childcare), I was getting more and more worse about cantering but I put that down to the pony I was riding, would be rushing to get back to my sister and I felt out of control.

I have now had 3 lessons on my own again, the first and second were brill. I was doing a lot of cantering last week, and even cantered over the poles. The pony spooked while I was cantering and I managed to get under control and cantered again after that - which was a massive achievement for me!

Today, wasn't so good. I was in one of those "moods" and the pony picked up on it and played up a bit and I just didn't have the confidence to canter. Last week, I would have been more than happy to jump!

After that long winded post, has anyone else lost their confidence and got it back comletely? I seem to be going up and down and I get really frustrated sometimes. My riding instructor says that I can ride and ride well but she has been incredibly understanding. Am I ever going to be a confident rider, or will I always feel a bit unsure every now and then?